Chris Carney sweeps mayor’s race

Chris Carney is Mooresville’s next mayor by a landslide, collecting 3,617 total votes to Bobby Compton’s 1,592 in yesterday’s municipal election.

Meanwhile, Eddie Karriker will fill the at-large commissioner seat vacated by Compton. Karriker’s votes totaled 3,103 to Frank Owens’ 1,656.

And in Ward 2, political newcomer Will Aven looks to have unseated Incumbent Thurman Houston by a vote of 545 to 519, respectively.

The Scoop was first to report election results last night on Facebook, thanks to volunteers who went to the 10 reporting precincts at closing and reported final numbers.

Eddie Karriker
Will Aven

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Author

Hi! I’m Jaime

I was a newspaper reporter in Mooresville, NC for a decade and covered local government issues from 2003 to 2006.


Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors